This One’s For Phife 

As I’ve stated in previous posts, like the one titled, Shirts, Rhymes, & Life; I’m an unapologetic, enthusiastic, and loyal fan of the Hip-Hop group A Tribe Called Quest. For fans of the group in recent months and years, it’s been a period of multiple emotions.

From the unbridled joy and excitement of the group coming out with their first album 18 years, to the untimely death of Malik “Phife Dawg” Taylor it’s surely been an eventful time. In my travels, I came across a shirt commemorating the life and contributions of Phife. I had to pick it up and make it part of this week’s Cool Shirt Friday post. For the uninitiated, one of Phife Dawg’s many nicknames was, “The Five Foot Assassin”,  hence the number 5 being put on this particular shirt.

The group will never be the same without Phife Dawg’s physical prescence, so I can’t say I was surprised when it was recently announced that A Tribe Called Quest had performed what they called their last performances in New York and Los Angeles respectively. I could speak about Phife, A Tribe Called Quest, and the personal significance of the group to me for days on end. But instead, I’ll leave you with a video clip of A Tribe Called Quest’s first Network Television performance, enjoy.

You were always on point Phife.

-Cool Shirt Guy, signing off

Leave a comment