Philadelphia City Hall

Iconic, immediately recognizable, nationally (possibly even world) renowned; Philadelphia City Hall has always held significance to me.

Before even researching the building itself, I remember it for being where I was first able to see an acting President (Clinton) in 1993. It was a class trip, it was hot, and I can’t remember a word from the speech. The images of building itself though, still remain.

The team over at Art History 101 have released the first of five shirts in a series titled, “After History.” The first shirt is the image attached to this post. It immediately caught my eye and I had to make sure it was part of my collection. I also wanted it to be this week’s edition of Cool Shirt Friday.

The shirt is a work of art itself and is extremely limited with only 101 being made. So, I’ll give the team over there a plug and let everyone know you can check this and all of their great designs out at arthistory101.com.

Before I go, I wanted share some of the cool facts I learned while researching Philadelphia City Hall for this post.

  • Beginning in 1871, construction took 30 years and cost nearly $25 million.
  • With 14.5 acres of floor space, almost 700 rooms and offices, Philadelphia City Hall is the biggest municipal building in America. It is taller and has more rooms than the U.S. Capitol Building, though it has a smaller total floor space than the Capitol’s 16.5 acres.
  • The designers of City Hall intended for the building to be the tallest in the world upon its completion. With a massive 37-foot statue of William Penn was placed atop City Hall in 1894, it reached 548 feet tall and surpassed the Ulm Münster (530 feet) in Baden-Württemberg, Germany as the tallest occupied building in the world (although it wouldn’t officially count until opening in 1901).

http://mentalfloss.com/article/83196/11-facts-about-philadelphias-city-hall

  • The William Penn Statue, atop Philadelphia City Hall Tower, is the largest statue, on any building in the entire world.

http://www.enjoyingphiladelphia.com/william_penn_statue.html

Until next time, I’ll keep enjoying my view from the top.


-Cool Shirt Guy, signing off

Leave a Reply

