Shirts of Rage

This Cool Shirt Friday is a bit of a nostalgic one for me.

My first childhood video game system was the Sega Genesis.


While most associate Sonic the Hedgehog as the iconic character and franchise of the system; for me, it was undeniably Streets of Rage. One of Sega’s big selling points was that it brought the experience of then ubiquitous coin-operated arcade right into your home.

While the Streets of Rage franchise never had a run in arcades (as far as I can tell), it’s definitely the type of game I would’ve thrown countless quarters at to beat.

Before detailing the franchise any further,  a special shout out has to go to the music composer for each of the Streets of Rage titles, Yuzo Koshiro. The music from this game is so iconic, it’s still talked about over 20 years later. To me, the music made the games easily identifiable, highly addictive, and kept its replay value high. With that, special recognition has to go to Koshiro for his contributions that made the games among my favorites.

At one point, I owned all 3 Streets of Rage titles for my Sega Genesis and played them religiously. I thought my passion for the game was unmatched,until coming across this YouTube clip (which is basically a documentary) covering the game from Kim Justice. It’s definitely worth at least one viewing.

I’ve had my eye on this shirt (the featured image for this post) for a while before finally picking it up, and waited even longer to make a post about it. Just like in the game, you save your special moves for when you really need them.

Until next time.

-Cool Shirt Guy, signing off

Leave a Reply

