And Now… Cartoons!

This Cool Shirt Friday shirt is an homage to 2 of my favorite cartoons to watch from my teenage years. Spider-Man, which aired on Fox and Batman the Animated Series which aired on the now defunct WB Television Network.

Batman was unique because it was one of the first cartoon series that took on a serious tone. Using a dark and gritty film noir technique, it grabbed my attention from the first moment I saw it. The intro to the show itself is captivating:

The voice acting was superb. Whenever I think of the Batman voice in my head, I always hear the voice of Kevin Conroy, who voiced Batman in this series. Conroy was the actor who gave birth to the idea of Batman having a different voice than Bruce Wayne. Up until this cartoon series was on television, the last only small screen portrayal of Batman was from the 1960’s series with Adam West. After him all actors who’ve done the cape and cowl have added a different voice for Batman. And of course, I can’t forget the voice acting for the Joker, done by none other than Luke Skywalker himself, Mark Hamil. I could go into a whole other post about his talent, maybe I’ll save that for a different shirt on a different day.

That bring us to Spiderman. That show was on the other end of the spectrum. It was a little serious, but a lot more lighthearted. It too had a great open to the show, with Joe Perry from Aerosmith playing the guitar:

These two cartoons were far from the only ones I watched, but when I came across this shirt, it reminded of these two cartoons, and I what I enjoyed about watching them while I was growing up.

And with that, this web swing down memory lane is over.

-Cool Shirt Guy, signing off.

Leave a Reply

